Wimbledon 2013: Roger Federer maintains he can fight his way back to the top


I'll bounce back stronger, vows Federer
Chin up: Federer was philosophical in defeat (Picture: EPA)

Roger Federer refused to acknowledge his brilliant career is on the decline after failing to reach the quarter-finals of a grand slam for the first time in 37 attempts.

Centre Court was stunned into silence as the seven-times Wimbledon champion from Switzerland was beaten by unknown Ukrainian Sergiy Stakhovsky in four sets.

Defeat brings to an end a run if 137 matches, stretching back over 36 grand slam tournaments.

But the 31-year-old denied it was the end of an era and said: ‘I still have plans to play for many more years to come.

‘It’s normal that after all of a sudden, after being in the quarter-finals so many times, people feel it is different.

‘It was hyped up so much about me playing Rafa in the quarter-finals and we are both out so there’s a letdown clearly.’

Ukraine's Sergiy Stakhovsky (L) shakes hands at the net with Switzerland's Roger Federer (R) after beating him in their second round men's singles match on day three of the 2013 Wimbledon Championships tennis tournament at the All England Club in Wimbledon, southwest London, on June 26, 2013. Stakhovsky won 6-7, 7-6, 7-5, 7-6. AFP PHOTO / ADRIAN DENNIS -  RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USEADRIAN DENNIS/AFP/Getty Images
End of an era? Stakhovsky’s win ended a run of 36 consecutive quarter-final appearances in grand slam events (Picture: Getty)

Federer’s fans are mourning the end of the astonishing sequence but he added: ‘It will be okay because I will be okay.

‘I guess it is a great number, I’m very happy about it, I wish it hadn’t ended here today but I don’t think that’s something fans are going to mourn about or myself. It is a great number, I can be proud of it, but I am moving on from here.

‘Right now this is a setback, a disappointment, whatever you want to call it. But overall I think I played great eight months ago at the ATP World Tour Finals in London, I played great at the Australian Open.

‘I have more options now than I did a year ago when I was running around trying to chase down every possible tournament and every point to get back to world No.1.

Maybe that, also with the Olympics last year, took its toll. I don’t know. But overall I think I have been playing actually not so bad.

‘The season is not over here it is only just in the middle. There is still a lot of tennis left and I will, try to have a good end to the season.’

http://www.metro.co.uk

Leave a comment